Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com

Reviews and Awards

Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com
Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com
Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com
Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com
Reviews - image  on https://grandmajoan.com

Review Title: A comprehensive referral service

By: Jonathon E. / California

Grandma Joan’s provided me with a very easy to use platform to find and employ a live-in caregiver for my 104-year-old dad. All the administrative details which would have been very hard for me to find out and deal with were included in the step-by-step guidance provided. On one hand the service is pricey but on the other, not easy to find a comprehensive package that would have resulted in such a trustworthy arrangement, which was the overarching criterion. California has stricter rules about payment to caregivers than other states so cost is simply higher but given that as an unavoidable feature, this was still a more viable set up than I could otherwise find. All in all, I am very glad that I was referred to David and his service which has so far had a good outcome.

2020-12-22

Review Title: A tremendous help to our family 

By: Anonymous

Grandma Joan has been a tremendous help to our family. I had posted ads elsewhere and searched for nurses to help our mother and came up empty handed. An elder care advisor in our area recommended Grandma Joan so I gave [name removed] a call. He listened to our needs and explained how Live-in care works. We interviewed candidates he provided and selected one for a one week trial. Covid lockdowns began soon after she arrived and she agreed to just stay without returning to get her car or additional personal items. She has been caring for our Mom for 7 months and we couldn’t be happier. [name removed] listened carefully to our needs and preferences and provided candidates who were trustworthy and experienced. Moms caregiver continues to be a great fit for our family. I highly recommend Grandma Joan to any family seeking live-in care.

2020-10-28

Review Title: Better than I could have hoped for

By: Kevin S. / North Carolina

My experience with Grandma Joan was better than I could of hoped for. Their quickness of action and thoroughness relieved me of much anxiety.

Replies:

Thank you so much Kevin for taking the time to review us! Im so glad that your mom is now able to stay at home again. Thank you for trusting us to help. Im so glad that Karen connected us. Let me know if any questions arise. We are here for you.

David Petroski replied at 2020-10-27

Review Title: They Make It Easy

By: A Florida Family

Our family has had two experiences with David Petroski and Grandma Joan’s. We highly recommend them for finding the right live-in caregiver. As for many families who realize that they need a live-in caregiver, we have no experience in this area. From the start, [name removed] walked us through the details, and has always been pleasantly available for questions. He’s incredibly easy to talk with, and does what he promises to do. He helps us complete the task, including payroll suggestions and Worker’s Comp suggestions. The complete deal. We’ve been able to interview excellent candidates, choosing one each time, and have been no less than delighted with our choices. We’ve been able to provide care at home, which makes all the difference. Our whole live-in caregiver situation was made much easier than we anticipated, largely due to [name removed] and Grandma Joan’s.

Replies:

Thank you John for taking the time for writing this! Its perfect!! I am so glad that we were able to find a good fit for your mom, and that she is back home again. As always, call me if any questions arise. I am here for your family 🙂

David Petroski replied at 2020-10-04

Better Business Bureau (5 Stars)

Review Title: A Service Filling a Need

By: Jane B. / North Carolina

Grandma Joan service was exactly what we needed.; I started my search for a service for my husband before he went to the hospital for an extended stay. We were hoping to have him back at home and I found David Petroski. He was helping me plan for that hope. My husband then needed 24 hour nursing care and a local facility met that need. Two months later, I had a fall and spent time in the hospital and rehab. I then needed the help that David and I had started to develop. He got me over the humps, found a companion that I needed and solved problems that I met. My companion allows me to stay at home, letting me do what I can and want to do, providing assistance with all my other needs. In our case, she has helped me with the daily medical needs, driving me to appointments, the grocery store, even the farmer’s market. When needed, she does the “go-for” jobs herself. I would be in a very different situation if not for Grandma Joan. Everyone’s needs are different and everyone’s solutions need someone like David Petroski

Replies:

Thank you Jane! I am so happy that you and Christine met through my Grandma Joan service, and that you two clicked so well. She told me that she loves being there with you and that you make it so easy for her to feel welcome. THANK YOU! let me know if any questions arise. I am here for you!

David Petroski replied at 2020-09-01

Review Title: Five Stars

By: John Bell / GA

We are very pleased with Grandma Joan’s services. Our Brother suffered a stroke in 2012 that left him paralyzed (left side), and unable to care for himself. Grandma Joan’s was a conduit for finding the right match for our in home caregiving needs. The vetting and interview process made us feel comfortable with the candidates we met and selected. Grandma Joan’s was always a phone call away with any guidance we needed over the eight years that our Brother required 24/7 live in care. These caregivers were a Godsend to our Family, and true friends to our Brother. Beyond that, Grandma Joan’s saved us hundreds of thousands of dollars compared with other agencies available. Our Brother lived and passed away in his Home with dignity thanks to the compassionate people we met through Grandma Joan’s.

Replies:

David Petroski

John, thanks for the kind words. It was a pleasure working with your family and Patty all of these years. I know that Charles cared deeply for your brother, and always spoke highly of your family. He was grateful for the opportunity, and thanked me for “finding” you for him.

Thanks again. I wish you and yours the best.

2020-05-22

Review Title: Invaluable service when most needed!

By: Edmee R / Washington

David Petroski and his organization, Grandma Joan, were a lifesaver for me and my husband. My mother, diagnosed with Parkinson’s and dementia, was living with us in her last years. As her health deteriorated with more frequent falls, we realized that she needed 24/7 care. We wanted very much to keep her at home. Grandma Joan became an invaluable resource in locating a wonderful live-in caregiver. It was such a huge transition for all of us but Grandma Joan provided excellent support throughout the process. David was always incredibly responsive and knowledgeable! I truly believe he cares deeply about the service he provides to families like mine. He was professional and competent, and at a time that we were under great duress, I found his services invaluable. I would recommend him and his organization without reservation!

Replies:

David Petroski

Thank you Edmee for taking the time to write this great review! My condolences to your family in the loss of your mom. Im so glad that we were able to help you keep your mom at home for those last critical months.

Warm regards,
Dave

2020-01-08

Review Title: Accolades for Grandma Joan

By: James Forde / North Carolina

My wife and I lived alone until the progress of her dementia increased, and a series of accidents resulted in her being in various facilities. However, I wanted her home. Inasmuch as I could not provide her needed care, On the recommendation of a friend, I reached out to Grandma Joan to help find a 24-hour caregiver. Within days, Grandma Joan provided me with a written profile of a recommended caregiver who I subsequently hired. The caregiver moved in with us, and became part of the family. My relief at having my wife home with me during her last years, cannot be measured. The written profile, and the recommendation provided by Grandma Joan were quite accurate and can be trusted. I highly recommend the use of their service.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks for taking the time to write this review James. Im so glad that Fatou was able to help you and your wife be together at home these last 2.5 years. Fatou told me that you are such good people and that she will miss you.

Thanks again,
Dave

2019-12-10

Review Title: Accolades for Grandma Joan

By: James Forde / North Carolina

My wife and I lived alone until the progress of her dementia increased, and a series of accidents resulted in her being in various facilities. However, I wanted her home. Inasmuch as I could not provide her needed care, On the recommendation of a friend, I reached out to Grandma Joan to help find a 24-hour caregiver. Within days, Grandma Joan provided me with a written profile of a recommended caregiver who I subsequently hired. The caregiver moved in with us, and became part of the family. My relief at having my wife home with me during her last years, cannot be measured. The written profile, and the recommendation provided by Grandma Joan were quite accurate and can be trusted. I highly recommend the use of their service.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks for taking the time to write this review James. Im so glad that Fatou was able to help you and your wife be together at home these last 2.5 years. Fatou told me that you are such good people and that she will miss you.

Thanks again,
Dave

2019-12-10

Review Title: Our personal experience with Grandma Joan’s

By: Amy P/ Michigan

When my husband came down with a debilitating illness (giant cell arteritis) he had every bad reaction possible to the medication. It resulted in an athletic man becoming a total invalid. The nursing home was not a good option for him so I brought him home so he could really recover. I contacted Grandma Joan’s who sent an incredible man to care for my husband. In three months my husband was able to walk, get into the car so we could go places. He still needed help but with [name removed]’s care he was able to recover. What I especially appreciate is that when Grandma Joan’s sends someone, that person has been thoroughly vetted and comes with a “guarantee.” If the client and caregiver are incompatible for any reason, David will find another person to come in. I did not need the guarantee because [name removed] had already found the right person.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks AMY! So glad that George recovered! Ade spoke very fondly of the time that he spent with you two in Kalamazoo. I liked the story that you told me about him and the drapes and the drill. He is truly a gentle giant! Thanks again!!!

2019-10-07

Review Title: Grandma Joan’s was the best

By: Steve Heath / Florida

I called a place for Mom in Ocala and spoke to [name removed] about either a live in caretaker or assisted living places. One of the recommendations was Grandma Joan and David called me. He was so easy to talk with and always was available.
After filling out the questionnaire David went to work and found two excellent candidates for us to interview. We could not go wrong with either but my Mom just fell for Donna. She was available and started the next week.
We provided her a room and told her it included board but she would pay for food she knew was not for Mom and I told her not to do that and let us pay. She never took advantage of her living arrangement. She cared so much for my Mom and took extraordinary care of her.
She was so hurt when my Mom passed she feels like family. I hope to keep Donna in our lives in the future.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks Steve! Im glad that we were able to help out at such an important time. Donna misses your mom.

Warm regards,
Dave

2019-10-15

Review Title: Your solution for live in care

By: Anonymous

Hiring live in help for our parents was not something we were looking forward to. Not only do they live in a very rural area, but they absolutely did not want any help at all. David Petroski from Grandma Joan’s turned this impossible task into a wonderful process with an incredible outcome. Every person we interviewed was a great candidate. The person we hired has made all the difference in the world to both my parents and to our entire family. Seven months after we hired our caregiver, I called [name removed] to ask a question. He not only answered my questions but he also remembered my family! David is personal without being intrusive. He is responsive, resourceful, and respectful. We highly recommend him.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thank you. I think that I know who this is, but Im not sure! I am super glad that you are happy with both the live-in that we found you and my friendly service! THANK YOU!

2019-09-14

Review Title: The best live-in caregiver search service anywhere in the country!

By: June B / Maine

David and Grandma Joan’s is beyond amazing – he saved us! He is professional, conscientious, smart, ethical, and a one-of-a-kind resource! [Name removed] was there for us in the time of need – everytime I called he delivered. If you have a loved one who needs a live-in caregiver look no further than Grandma Joan’s and David! Beyond worth every penny and there are truly no words of how grateful I am to him and for him!

Replies:

David Petroski

JUNE! Thanks for the amazing review! Im glad that we were able to help. Paula just sent me another of her clients who are in a “remote area” that she couldnt help. Your review may convince them that we could do the same for her. She is by the White Mountains. Sorry to hear about your mom’s passing. I hope that you and Jack are well.

2019-09-14

Review Title: No perfect scenario

By: Deborah Keeney-Cravath / Florida

Difficult to have someone living in your home. Cultural differences, and the cost is also very high, we even feed this person! Still deciding about best way forward.

Replies:

David Petroski

Deb,

Im sorry to hear that you are no longer satisfied. Its never perfect but usually the pros far outweigh the cons, especially when compared to the other options. Full-time custodial care is expensive. According to Genworth LTC, the average nursing home in the US cost 97k per year, and that is for a 10′ x 10′ room, no other private space, and having one CNA for every 12-24 residents to share. Call me and lets see if we can figure out a solution.

2018-11-15 03:49

Review Title: Don’t know what we would have done without Grandma Joan’s

By: Tim C / Montana

I would just like to say how pleased we are that we found Grandma Joan’s. My wife’s uncle had a severe stroke and we are his only family. We live in Los Angeles and he lives outside a small town in Montana. We knew that we really wanted to find a way to get him back to his home as that was where he was happiest, but how to provide the care that would be needed was something that we were struggling to figure out. Once we found Grandma Joan’s the process became so much easier. [Name removed], the owner of Grandma Joan’s, helped us talk through how the process of finding a live-in caregiver would work. One of the big difficulties to overcome was that we were doubtful that he would be open to a female caregiver living with him, so [name removed] worked hard to find males for us to interview. We interviewed all three top candidates by phone, then did a video interview with our uncle on the top two, and from there made an offer to the person we considered as the best for the job. He is now living with our uncle, taking care of his needs (and our uncle can be a handful at times), watching out for the house, making meals, and contacting us to give reports. It has been incredibly wonderful to find someone that we feel that we could take into our family to care for uncle as we cannot be there. It is amazing to reflect on this and realize that we live in California, worked with [name removed] who is in New Jersey, to find a qualified and thoughtful caregiver who was living in Colorado, to move to Montana to care for our uncle. Now our trips to Montana are much happier occasions about seeing our uncle, the progress he is making, and how well he and his caregiver are doing together.

Replies:

David Petroski

Wow! Thanks Tim for taking the time to write such a detailed review of our service. I love it!!! I spoke to James 2 weeks ago, and he is all settled in and getting used to your Uncle’s routines, likes and dislikes. He is very happy with the position, He also said that the surrounding area is so beautiful. Thanks again Tim.

2018-09-29

Review Title: We couldn’t be happier!

By: Laurie Salzman / Maryland and Florida

When Mom needed full time care, Grandma Joan’s found us the most qualified, compassionate caregiver we could have wished for! Live-in care was wonderful for Mom in Maryland as the caregiver was also a companion. When it became clear that my sister needed care in Florida, I knew what to do! Dave found us another live-in and we couldn’t be happier!

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks Laurie!

2018-07-19

 

Review Title: Fantastic Company!

By: MB / Tennessee

This extremely stressful experience was made significantly easier by Grandma Joan’s. Grandma Joan’s is attentive, knowledgable and understanding. He walked me through the entire process and really put my mind at ease. I truly appreciate all of his help and wisdom. Grandma Joan’s is a fantastic company and I’m very happy with their service and the caregiver they found for me on short notice! I highly, highly recommend them!

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks Meg!! I hope your client is very happy with Elzir. She is quite a catch with her 20+ yrs exp. Let me know if any questions arise,

Thanks again for trusting me with your client!
Dave

2018-05-10

Review Title: Best Possible Experience

By: Kathy Holcomb / Florida

Grandma Joan’s is hands down one of the best organizations I have ever worked with. David could not have been more helpful, knowledgeable or responsive. It was an extremely difficult time for our family and he made the getting in-home care part so much easier. I highly recommend Grandma Joan’s and am eternally grateful!!

Replies:

David Petroski

Kathy! Thank you!! So glad that it worked out with Deya. You and your parents deserve the best.

Thanks again, call me if any questions or concerns arise,
Dave

2018-02-20

Review Title: Not for us

By: Anonymous

I reviewed their website and spoke with the contact/owner. I believe it is a great business. The show-stopper for me was the fact that my mother has dementia and is mostly disagreeable, which makes the cost go up significantly. Also the fact that my mother doesn’t not sleep through the night. The live-in caregivers need to have 8 hours of mostly uninterrupted sleep (understandably). My mother sings and talks periodically throughout the night. It would be hard for a person to sleep through it. I have no complaint about the business. Just review all of the flow charts on their website and you will have a good understanding of how they operate and how much it will cost per month. It looked like about $8K a month for my mother, plus you should get liability insurance, you need to allocate food budget for the caregiver, and you must use a payroll system to pay them and that has a per check cost. Then you still have all of the expenses related to continuing to live in the house.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thanks for taking the time to write this detailed review. She is correct in everything that she says. We understand that live-in care is not for everybody, and the cost is out of reach for most families. We also understand that according to Genworths 2017 “Cost of Care” survey that the average price for a shared room in a nursing home is $8,100, and in some states its over 10k. That coupled with the fact our model provides a one on one caregiver in your own home is usually desired more than relocating to a facility and sharing the limited cnas between dozens of others. The reviewer is also correct about getting liability insurance. In 17 states its actually required, and in the other states home owners insurance is often used. Our partner HomePay will help you with that. Workers comp insurance varies in cost from state to state (as low as $250 a year to as high as $1,500 per year) but even at the highest its only $125 per month for 100% liability protection. Not bad! Either way, we hope that you consider our model. Feel free to call us with any questions!

2018-02-03

Review Title: Exceptional Care giving

By: Anonymous

It can be un nerving to have a stranger move into your home to tend to your loved one who is in need of help. But this agency has taken away my fear and sent a compassionate and tender person to help me. I couldn’ have asked for a better person to help around the house do what needs to be done as far as caring for my husband. It relieves some of the pressure and stress and makes me feel comfortable knowing someone else is here to help.

Replies:

David Petroski

Im glad that we could help. It sounds like you have found some peace of mind knowing that someone else is there to help you with your husband. Let me know if any questions arise. We are here for you!

Warm regards,
Dave

2017-09-06

Review Title: Very impressed!

By: Anonymous

Everything with this home care service is going great! I was very impressed with the amount of qualified candidates that I was able to choose from. They did what they said they were going to do, when you were going to do it, for the agreed upon price! We are very pleased!

Replies:

David Petroski

Im not sure which client you are but Im happy that you are happy! Call us if any questions arise. We are here for you.

Dave

2017-09-06

Review Title: Helping Our Family

By: Anonymous

My mom is doing well and everything that the caregiver does has been good. She is on time and does a great job. She is a companion, prepares meals, and she is helping my mom when she needs help. I would recommend them to my family or friends.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thank you! Let us know if any questions arise.

Warm regards,
Dave

2017-05-26

Review Title: THANKYOUthankyouTHANKYOUthankyouTHANKYOU!

By: Ruth K / California

I could not be happier (and more relieved)!

David was extremely responsive. I could call and ask a question or a million questions and he never acted like I was a pest and never made me feel like he wanted to get off the phone. He allowed me to run countless “what if…” scenarios by him and answered thoughtfully and honestly.

Melanie, the care giver we ended up hiring, is working out very well. My mom doesn’t think she has Alzheimer’s and is very unhappy that we’ve forced her to have a caregiver in her home. Melanie has a way of dealing with my mom that is never confrontational. I’d thought it might be months before my mom would let her do anything. But in the first month she was able to get her to allow her to make most of the meals and do most of the cleaning.

Best yet, mom gained 3 pounds in the first 2 weeks! She’d been steadily losing weight so this was a huge measure of success.

And on the It’s-all-about-me front, I have my life back! No more spending 20 hours a week running her household as well as mine. I can finally go back to working full time at my job.

Replies:

David Petroski

Thank you! Im so glad that it worked out so well with Melanie and your family. I spoke to her last week, and she told me that she was happy too. Funny how you found our service by accident 🙂

Live-in Care Basics

Want to know more?

See if live-in care is a viable option for your location and situation. We are here to help, and LOVE what we do.