​​Pay 45% Less

We recruit, screen, and place the top live-in caregivers in the country with private families. We set the family up with a turnkey payroll solution to pay the live-in, following all state and federal labor laws. We only charge a one-time placement fee for our entire service. We have no other fees.

Why has California become the most expensive states for non- medical custodial care at home?

Why has California become the most expensive states for non- medical custodial care at home?

Good question. 
 
Home care agencies have stopped providing live-in care services in California due to some scary changes to labor laws in the last few years.  In layman’s terms, the CA courts ruled that if an employee was required to be somewhere, or required to be on call, then even though they were sleeping, they would need to be paid for that time. CA is the only state in the nation with this ruling and it overrides the Federal rules on domestic live-ins which say that they don’t need to be paid for their sleep shift. 
 
So what happened is home care agencies choose to pay multiple caregivers, each working 8-12 hour shifts for the full 24 hrs EVEN when the coverage was not needed, instead of the normal 16 hours live-ins work. Add to that CA has become one of the highest min wage states in the country, and its “Domestic Workers Bill of Rights” and what you wind up with is the perfect storm. 
 
High min wages + 30% more paid hours each day + unique domestic worker OT laws = The most expensive state in the nation to grow old in… or at least age in place at home. Instead of $250 a day, the same coverage in CA now costs $650 a day when going through a home care agency. 

Is There A Solution?

Grandma Joan’s may be able to help though.
First Scenario $11,000 per month for 24/6 coverage
If you require the live-in to be in the home and or on-call during their sleep shift, then you must pay them for that time. Paying them privately at minimum wage, a 24/6 day live-in will cost you $11,000 a month, based on the state’s min wage. That includes all of your payroll taxes, workers comp insurance, and even the payroll service. That’s a lot of money, but still, 9k less than an agency. 
 
Second Scenario $7,800 a month for 16/6 coverage
If your situation allows for the caregiver to be truly off during the night, then why pay for 24 hrs when you only really need 16 hrs?  
 
If that’s the case, then a 16 hr caregiver in most areas of CA will cost you $300 per day. Some exceptions apply. That rate includes all required CA payroll taxes, and our partner payroll service to handle all your payroll obligations for you. You can also get CA Workers comp insurance for under $500 a year for 100% liability protection and total peace of mind.
 
For the second scenario, it is suggested that CA families should set forth specific policies in the employee contract that confirms the caregiver is not on call, has no duties after their shift ends, and has the freedom to come and go as they please during any unpaid hours. 
 
Call us at 888-250-2631 between 6am-4pm PST  for more details.